One potato, two potato, three potato, four

potatoes

Oven fry medley

Can I just say that 400 pounds of potatoes is a lot of potatoes?  That’s how many pounds of certified organic “seed” potatoes I ordered this year.  I’m not sure what I was thinking, except that I love potatoes, and so do most people.  Seed potatoes are really no different from the potatoes you buy at the store (minus the growth inhibitor).  We spread them out in single layers and expose them to light and warmth to get the eyes sprouting, a process called “chitting”.  In about a week or two, we’ll cut them into egg-sized chunks and they will be ready to plant.

We are growing five kinds of potatoes this year:  German Butterball, Purple Majesty, Red Gold, LaRatte Fingerling, and All Red.  Today we baked up some oven fries and did taste tests with the guys.  Purple Majesty is the blueish one, and it was a stretch, but after trying it, Lance commented, “It tastes better than it looks!”  German Butterball and Purple Majesty won the oven fries contest, but I have a hunch the results might be different if we had made mashed potatoes, since different kinds have varying levels of starch.

I think we’ll have some potatoes to spare, so if you’d like to buy some to plant in your garden, let me know!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One potato, two potato, three potato, four

  1. Cate says:

    I am a potato lover…probably potato’s biggest fan…aside from the fact that I torture them in hot oil, boiling water and microwaves; and often smother them in salt, ketchup, and butter! So if you find that you have an over-abundance of potato crops this year, never fear…I will do my part to take them off your hands.

Leave a Reply

