COMMUNITY Supported Agriculture

We finally had a sunny Saturday at the farm, and though the ground was still too saturated to do much digging and planting, there’s no shortage of work, either.  Thankfully, people came in throngs today to help.  Among the volunteers:  A group of 8 from Harrisburg Young Professionals (which included a Harrisburg University student and her family, a civil engineer,  a dietician who works at a WIC office who happens to be a graduate of Bishop McDevitt, and a friend visiting from Brooklyn), 3 youth from Joshua Group (two from SciTech and one from Bishop McDevitt), 6 shareholders (including a family with a 5th grader and a 10th grader), and 2 friends who were among the original group of shareholders, now residents of Maryland and connected with a CSA there.  Josh and Jeron were working, too, and I can’t forget to thank the two friends who watched my kids so I could be in the field.  It reminded me a bit of a wedding, when the different segments of life come together–volunteers, shareholders, youth employees, friends.  We got a lot accomplished–two herb gardens rejuvenated, lots of lettuce planted, a perennial bed rescued from weeds, asparagus weeded, grass mowed and peas mulched, and hundreds (well, at least 200!) of peppers transplanted.  And I was reminded again that this farm is a community effort, made stronger by each person’s contribution.

On another front, I had one of my “happier than would seem appropriate” moments today when I came home to discover not one but two scythes on my front porch.  There were deposited there by my friend Jason, along with a sickle (a short handled blade which is used while bending over; wikipedia says that that scythe (used while standing) quickly gained popularity and displaced the sickle).  While visions of dressing up as the Grim Reaper for Halloween crossed my mind, my excitement over these tools is more practical.  Both of our string trimmers are out of commission (one broke on Friday, one “got stole” last winter and hasn’t been replaced), and the cover crops are waist-high in some plots.  So tomorrow, when a youth group from Market Square Presbyterian comes to help, I hope to experiment with these new/old tools.  I think it’s time to cancel my gym membership. 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

