A Beautiful Thing

As I work with children in various capacities, I often find myself in interesting conversations with little ones. Most recently, a 6-year old asked me if my husband has a job. I replied, “Yes, he works at a farm.”

She wrinkled her nose and said, “Eeew.”

“Eeew?” I questioned.

“Farms are smelly, right?” she responded.

I tried to reason with her, “Well, this one has lots of vegetables and some fruits and a couple animals…and it’s not that smelly at all.”

She thought about this for a minute, “So there are animals?”

“Yes, a bunch of chickens, a bunny rabbit, and a couple cats who hang around.”

She thought again, and after a moment said, “Shouldn’t there be lots of bunnies and just one chicken?”

“Well, chickens lay eggs, so we get to eat their eggs.”

She furrowed her brow and pondered this for a moment, then finally said, triumphantly, “But…bunnies lay…carrots!”

I thought that was a pretty good comeback, if not completely accurate 🙂

By Micalagh C. B. Moritz (Josh’s wife, who normally blogs at Only Small Things)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Beautiful Thing

  1. Pingback: A Beautiful Thing | Only Small Things

Leave a Reply

